Migraine Talk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

1st post, first support forum

3 posters

Go down

1st post, first support forum Empty 1st post, first support forum

Post by popsicle Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:55 am

Hello! I am new to this discussion board, as I just recently started to research migraines. I had "bad headaches" off and on for a few years, but started getting them frequently in the last few years. They started coming more often after I exercised, and then they came every time I exercised. Now they come at least a few times per month. When they started coming with exercise I looked up exercise induced migraines and found that these are frequent and non-life threatening, and there's not much to be done. I am greatly disappointed because exercise means a lot to me, and not being able to exercise without triggering a migraine is incredibly frustrating! My doctor(s) have tried a few different things - blood pressure medicine (I do not have high blood pressure), ibuprofen and caffeine, imetrex (made me fall asleep - cannot function while asleep, although I don't function well with a migraine either). My most recent doctor shrugged off the migraines and told me that I've "gained a few pounds" and that I should "exercise daily." She obviously didn't read my file and when I tried to explain the situation she really didn't listen. The migraines come wherever and whenever now. Many times I wake up with a burgeoning migraine. I do my best with what I have, but try not to take too much OTC medicine because I don't want to get rebound headaches. I haven't actually been diagnosed with migraines, but I have classic symptoms; unbearable pain, nausea, dizziness, altered vision (what I call "swimmy eyes"). Sometimes my depth perception gets messed up, and my eyes get puffy. Anyway, I know this is a long post, but this is the first place I found where others might understand what I'm going through and may have so