Migraine Talk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

me and my hemiplegic migrains

5 posters

Go down

Hemiplegic - me and my hemiplegic migrains Empty me and my hemiplegic migrains

Post by onandoffagain Sat Jun 04, 2011 7:19 am

Id love to be able to give you some dates and a run down of what has gone on in some sort of order but im not very good at remembering things!
I know my first real attack was at work one night where I collapsed. I then continued to have loss of conciousness, left side weakness etc for several weeks. No cause was ever found. Then I had another attack and went to my GP, I also had constant patches of severely painful skin, like it was on fire but with no visible signs. My GP told me he was sure it was multiple sclerosis. I spent a few weeks getting used to this and getting use to a life where I couldn't walk far, stand for long or do anything useful with my left arm, I had speech problems and tiredness like ive never know.
I went to adenbrooks to get the official diagnosis and had an MRI scan which showed it wasn't MS. The neurologist told me it was hemiplegic migraine and i thought he was having a laugh! How could a migraine cause me to feel so ill for so long, stop my speech and give me such weakness?? well the more i looked into it, the more it fitted with so many problems I had had for years. I had several attacks as a teenager which presented just like meningitis but with no actual virus present. I was forever collapsing or just being tired and weak for no reason.