Migraine Talk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Chronic Migraines in Toronto

3 posters

Go down

Chronic Migraines in Toronto Empty Chronic Migraines in Toronto

Post by Brain Storm Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:02 am

Hi folks,

I am relatively new to the world of chronic migraines, and really still trying to get my bearings. I started a blog at Lousong.wordpress.com in an attempt to connect with others dealing with the same issues.

Here's my story:

Winter 2012

I was minding my business, working hard, being social, setting lofty goals, and then whoops! A Migraine! "So this is that nasty headache so many people are on about! I'd rather not have one of those again," I thought as I carried on with my busy life.

Spring  2012

In a cocky, brazen move to try and pass another cyclist while totally forgetting the danger of streetcar tracks, my face and the College Street pavement became intimate. I immediately put myself down for a nap in an attempt to quell the shakes and nausea. Later on, some friends attempted to medicate me with sweet, delicious honey vodka, and lovingly convinced me that streetcar track falls are an important rite of passage for all torontonian cyclists!  Hooray! I was a real cyclist in the big city with scars to prove it! Only, I probably had a concussion and probably should not have had a nap or a drink of sweet, delicious honey vodka.

Fall 2012

I began to have weekly migraines. They came on in the afternoon, usually while teaching under florescent lights in dusty, cologne-filled rooms, and almost always on Friday. "Wow, these migraines are really the pits. How does my mum put up with them?" I thought, as I cancelled my fun Friday night plans and set up expensive bi-weekly massages and acupuncture sessions.

Winter 2012-2013

I started having migraines twice a week or more, and started calling in sick more often.
"Have you tried not eating cheeeeese?''